President’s Message – January 2013

President’s Message – January 2013

Happy New Year! This newsletter brings much uncertainty in our National Politics but pure delight and excitement at the State Level. Many of us worked very hard to take back the Senate and we did!! Perhaps working hard at the state and local levels will bring more change than nationally. WE just have to fight a little harder to ensure stronger state rights and less interference from the feds!!

We are constantly seeking members to be on committees and on the board. If you have a desire to someday be on the board and perhaps serve as President, please let us know. We ask that you begin by becoming a committee member. Below is a list of committees and committee chairs. Please contact one of them to serve on one of the committees. We are also very thankful that Julie Papasavas stepped forward at the meeting to run for Treasurer. She ahs an accounting background and I look forward to her handling the books!

The following people were elected to the ARWC Executive Board for two-year term:


Judy Eledge

Co-Vice Presidents

Ardy Robertson / Rebecca Logan


Liz Vasquez

Assistant Secretary

Beth Farnstrom


Julie Papasavas

Assistant Treasurer

Myrna Maynard

(See below for Committee Chars who serve as board members)


Also at the Annual Meeting we inducted two long-term members to our “Lifetime Membership.” They are Nancy Todd and Myrna Maynard. Thanks to them for many years of service to our club.

Congratulations to the following ARWC members for their successful election or re-election to the AK Legislature:

Senator Cathy Giessel

Senator Lesil McGuire

Senator Anna Fairclough

Representative Mia Costello

Representative Charisse Millett

Representative Gabrielle LeDoux


A big thank you for the outgoing Board of Directors. These women worked hard to raise money and get Republicans elected. Most of all I want to thank them for their support!! You will be sorely missed.

This post was written by
Comments are closed.